Day 10 Welcome to North Carolina 9 miles

Dicks Creek Gap to Bly Gap(78.6)
Woke up in a warm bed feeling refreshed and ready to hike. Wayne and I took the shuttle out of Hiawassee at 9am and were hiking out of Dicks Creek by 9:20. I felt great today finally hitting a good pace and feeling comfortable with a fully loaded bag with four days of food. I now fully understand the importance of Nero days. Beautiful views of the mountains on both sides of the trail today. It sprinkled on and off most of the morning and I kept my rain jacket off to enjoy the drizzle. We stopped for a nice lunch break along the trail around noon. I finally had to throw on my rain coat for my last mile in Georgia. As I was climbing a hill, I could see four men huddled under a rock staying dry and noticed a sign hanging on a tree GA/NC. I did it! I made it out of Georgia on my tenth day! I waited for Wayne and we took photos. We only had to walk another .1 mile to the place we picked to camp. It was drizzling and I succeeded at putting up my tent in the rain. Bravo since I had never done that before! Saw Slingshot again set up in his hammock and other hiker friends. Met new hikers as well today handlebar, paperweight, Chris, slow hand, and a few others. Just another easy afternoon spent chatting and snacking till dark.

Lessons learned the first ten days out
* there are not many solo female thru hikers out here
* pay attention to where you throw your bag down there is usually poison ivy lurking
* looking at the elevation changes in the guide in the morning isn’t necessary just climb that mountain
* knobs are just as tough as mountains to climb
* anytime you think you are at close to the top you usually aren’t
* sleeping in shelters next to snoring men isn’t much fun so just tent
* seeing someone on the trail again after being away a few days is like greeting a long lost friend with a huge hug
* generosity given in Georgia was above and beyond what I could have hoped for
* the human body can adjust to extreme lifestyle changes fairly quickly… I’ll elaborate later
* the man hours spent caring for the trail is evident every few steps and it is appreciated greatly (I will give back when I’m done)
* being in the mountains is nothing like driving thru them and photos only capture a piece of the moment not the scent of the blooming trees and flowers
* I love hiking! I love carrying everything I need on my back and meeting new people from around the world. I love leaving towns and getting back into the woods. I love everything about the Appalachian Trail!
* 11 days ago I had camped out three times in my life. Once next to a car in Alaska and two nights in the Porcupine Mountains in Michigan only one mile into the woods. I am so proud of myself for finally taking a step out of my comfort zone and living an adventurous life! Georgia has changed me and my life for the better. I don’t like to look too far ahead, but life just keeps getting better around every turn! ❤️Sas

20140422-210946.jpg

20140422-210957.jpg

20140422-211004.jpg

20140422-211025.jpg

20140422-211037.jpg

20140422-211049.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 10 Welcome to North Carolina 9 miles

  1. Sherill Garms Metten

    Hi Tracy This is Sherill your Grandma’s cousin from Michigan but you first met in New York. I am loving your blog and waiting for your next post. A couple of my Grand Sons love survival camping and back packing so I am going to try and forward your blog to one of them Bobby Jinks is his name. I love that you can live your passion and I wish you the best and the safest times. Not many people get the chance or have the courage to follow their passions. Take Care. Oh, If I were your Grandma I would be having a conniption fit and would worry every single minute of your trip. LOL YOU GO GIRL!!!!!

  2. sue

    Glad to see you are doing so well. I’m sure there have been ups and downs to your hike, but I’m glad you are enjoying it. lol You go girl….

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.