Day 125 4.8 miles

Spruce Peak Shelter to Bromley Shelter (1,649.2 miles)
I loved my tent being the only one in the huge tenting area causing me to wake up late. I wandered off to the side of the woods to pee to be surprised to see one of the college kids coming out of the woods with his trowel. He likely saw some ass… Life in the woods. I packed up my things then forced my sore heels into my destroyed shoes. Sorry Keen not a fan of your hiking shoes they are killing me! My mom and grandma would be meeting me in the parking lot in under two hours so I got on trail super excited to get spoiled today and have someone to talk to… Been a bit lonely out here recently. Lots of solo time to think lately as I have came to many realizations. Every step killed my feet this morning as I could barely do two miles an hour. If mom wasn’t coming, I would have hitched into town. I got to the parking lot and ripped off my shoes looking at my red heels. Within ten minutes mom and grandma pulled into the parking lot. So happy to see them again and be greeted with hugs, kisses, and a cold drink! We were off to Manchester Center for the day. Mom brought a towel for me to “bath” in a public restroom. It did made me feel and smell a lot better as I put on an old pair of huge sweatpants and a new tshirt since all of mine were too big. I felt a little under dressed compared to all the women shopping in town. We ate at Manchester Pizza as I shared some stories with them as my phone charged. Then it was off to the laundry across the street. Saw Big Cheese, Upgrade, and John as well so mom chatted with them for a bit. I enjoyed just sitting in the car waiting for the laundry and talking with grandma. We did some shopping at EMS and Price Chooper then just drove around the town for a while. Busy town with lots of high end shops and people everywhere. We decided to head back into town and hangout at McDonalds. More story telling and dream sharing as the day drifted into afternoon. We headed back to the trail around 6 as I planned to hike two more miles to the shelter. So glad mom delivered my new shoes and warm weather gear since it was chilly. We said our goodbyes and grandma was worried since I was going to rain. I flew up the mountain to the shelter in less than an hour loving my new shoes already. I was greeted by Trillium from Pa, Infrared from Boston, and City Slicker also from Boston with the best accent. He is well known as a lifer on the AT. He has done one thru hike, but has hiked over 14,000 miles of the trail picking his favorite parts to hike each year. Quite the story teller as well. The four of us chilled laughing and trying to stay warm. The three of them took the bottom of the shelter and I claimed the top to myself. I was bundled up in my coat, pants, fleece hat, bag liner, and sleeping bag as I warmed up quickly and drifted to sleep. 💜Sas

IMG_2085.JPG

IMG_2087.JPG

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.