Farewell California, Hello Oregon

Woke up for the last time in the longest state I will ever walk thru, California. You have blown my mind. I loved every minute in California and I can see myself living in this state at some point in my life. The desert was rewarding and stunning with ridge walks for miles. The High Sierra will forever be my favorite part of California. I look forward to rehiking the JMT aka John Muir Trail many times in my life. Lake Tahoe blew my mind and Northern California had views for miles and a variety of terrain. What a diverse state full of some of the most generous individuals I have ever met. So much trail magic and kindness. But the best part of the hike is the freedom. The freedom to walk as far as I would like each day, camp where I feel like, and view the state from foot. Also, my fellow hikers have made the experience unforgettable. Love you all. I will be back soon California to explore! 

I walked away from the campsite to look back at the trail from yesterday and north into Oregon. I walked alone collecting my thoughts still thinking about where I was a few years ago. I have seen so much of my country on foot and can’t imagine how different things would be if I hadn’t started hiking April 13th 2014 at the Southern Terminus of the Appalachian Trail. I soaked in the views of California feeling bittersweet about conquering this state. I took a nice break with Geisha Diamonds as Merman joined us. We stared off into Oregon eager, but not in a huge rush. Laughter and good times as we finally hiked along. I walked with Fancy Feet through open fields towards the border. We heard Merman yell knowing we were close to the border. The Oregon/California sign hung on a dead tree covered in moss as I crossed into Oregon.  

  

  

  

 Turned back around dropping our packs to celebrate together. Nice sign, logbook, and perfect place for the four of us to sit down reflect and chill.  

 Found a little trail magic treat for us as the boys swigged some whiskey. Pot and Lid joined a few minutes later to celebrate. Almost two hours spent on the California side together. We did it!  

 Myself, Merman, Geisha Diamonds, Fancy Feet ready to defeat Oregon! We take this hiking thing very serious! 💜

Onward to Oregon as I walked off with Fancy Feet. State boundaries always make me smirk since there is never a huge difference in the first few miles. We found Million Bucks at a small campsite above a spring where we joined him. Merman continued on as we looked down on car campers below us set up. We had a wonderful evening in Oregon as the sun set you could hear cow bells in the distance. I cowboy camped staring up at the stars next to Million Bucks. A wonderful day spent in two states. Let’s see what Oregon has to offer since I’ve never been in this state either. Feeling strong and confident that I can make it! Onward! 💙Sass

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.